Movie Review: Ponyo on the Cliff by the Sea (2008)

21 Jan

I am not a big fan of Japanese animated movies, but when it comes to movies from the director of “Spirited Away” there will be an exception to watch one of his amazing films, so few days ago I watched his latest film called Ponyo, and I have to say that I didn’t get what I expected at all.

I expected a journey into another world full of creative imagination, it was a little bit similar to “little mermaid” story, where a goldfish princess fell in love with 5-year-old kid and she wants to change into human.

Even though the similarities in the plots, the way of showing the sea creatures were more interesting and funny.

I hate dubbed movies, I prefer translating the Japanese dialogue when it comes to animation,  this might ruin 20% percent of the movie.

What I like about these movies that they will take me into enjoyable journey that I will never have in any movie else, that what kept me watching it till the end, seriously who was thinking of  “a 5-year-old boy and his relationship with a goldfish princess“.

To compare between Ponyo and Spirited away is unfair, each one have a unique way to entertain us, but  if you asked me which one is better I would go to Spirited Away with no doubt, overall if you like Japanese animation you don’t want to miss this adventure, it might not be the best one.

I would give it 7 out of 10
**********

Leave a Reply

