Review: Pecha Kucha Night Kuwait #5

6 May

I was so excited to attend this PKN for some reasons, one of them is that I am not organizer anymore and also the number of presentations are 10 (this means many different ideas), so I went there and I was amazed how it was well-organized by young volunteers from our department and individuals from design squared, I enjoyed the live music before the event started, I didn’t mind that the presentations got delayed for few minutes.

Hussa Al-Humaidhi

I know Hussa from a project that KASA was involved before, and I was glad that she mentioned us in one of her slides, her presentation was about Sout Al-Kuwait organization and how they participated for the awareness of the constitution of Kuwait, yet still I don’t get it when she said we are not political movement, but presentation wise she was good and well prepared, also I liked the idea of kids book about the constitution.

Zeyad Boarki

This guy started with a crappy photographs, and after that he showed his improvement in photography, I like presentations that starts with history and then the current work, but his current work was not that good, PKN supposed to share new ideas and good work, but what Zeyad showed us was what he likes to SEE, the beginning slides was somehow related to each other, but after that he explains each photograph that is not related for the whole presentation. I would like to see approach in your photography and your presentation, anyone can take pictures but few who have an idea behind it.

Lewis Chapman

I liked this guy who appeared in Jason Mraz style,  he showed his work as a Painter, and I was wondering why he didn’t write artist, apparently his work process was shown by taking a photo from a video that he recorded and starting sketching that correct angle from the video, and at the end he gets his painting, I was amazed by how realistic the paintings are, and I noticed in most of his paintings that he keep only one character in an empty scene, I don’t know if it was intended or not.  But overall I really enjoyed this cool presentation, check his website here.

Dari Al Huwail

He talked about Kuwait Dive Team and how their attempts to save the marine life, seeing young people volunteering for such a cause makes you proud of them, and he showed many pictures about the waste in the sea, you can check out their facebook group if you are interested to support them.

Sama Al-Wasmi

A blogger that shared her idea about expressing yourself about wearing anything you want, I found it really interesting subject in a funny presentation, you can check her blog here.

Amani Al Thuwaini & Farah Al Haide

I didn’t take any picture from their presentation, I recognized Amani AlThuwaini as a student in our department, she showed another side of her life that no one knows about it in college (at least for me), she’s an artist and also Farah (a student from GUST), and they showed their idea of starting a movement for artists and encouraging different types of art like street art for example. At the beginning they were a little bit shy but they ended it up very well.

Yvonne Wakefield

She’s a professor in Kuwait University, and her presentation was about her life as a pomegranate, I really admired the idea at the end of the presentation, it was so simple how one kind of fruit can express events during your life, her struggle about one way visa, and how she was the only remaining pomegranate from her family tree, and nothing is compared when she said Arabic proverbs like (Laish) and (La), I like foreign people when they talk in my language.

Lulu & Balsam Al Ayoub

It was so cool to know about Kuwaiti sisters professional fencers and was in the olympic team, they showed how the encouragement started by their mother (she was a former champion back in the 60’s), at a certain point Balsam started to talk about years and numbers with no attention for the slides, but at the end they have managed to deliver their message about Kuwaiti Women and fencing.

Ahmed Al-Gharabally

In his presentation he talk about his small business website called Masahati where you can save time in ordering any product and making Kuwait connected through a business network, I kinda like the idea but I think it would be great if the property expanded more than real estate, and this might be the only presentation that is talking about business instead of showing artwork or non-profit organization, I don’t mind having diversity in presentation, but some people next to me hated that a lot.

Talal Obeid

This graphic designer was one of the best presenter, he reminds of MONSTAR (he presented in PKN2), but Talal by simple ideas made us laughing about many things like the Hijab trend and his movie poster called Shanab, What I like about him is how he showed us that you can have fun in your work and ending with good results. and the last slide was a pattern of boobs, (faded pattern of boobs) and I think he said topage to boobage, I dunno what he meant about that, but it was so bold to put that picture and saying in front the audience.

Every PKN they ended up with the Q&A from the audience and no one ask anything in each event, but this time there was no Q&A, overall I would thank everyone who was working in this event Specially Dr. Aseel Al Ragam, it was a successful event and one of the best PKNs.

You can check out my previous posts about previous PKNs

PKN Kuwait 3: Happy Faces Everywhere

Pecha Kucha Night Kuwait #3 Videos Now in Youtube

Pecha Kucha Night #4: A Trip Around the World

Pecha Kucha Night Kuwait #4 Videos Now in Youtube

8 Responses to “Review: Pecha Kucha Night Kuwait #5”

  1. Bumo May 6, 2010 at 6:28 pm #

    Looks like it was very fun… I’m looking forward to watching them on YouTube later. 🙂

  2. Rashed May 9, 2010 at 8:45 pm #

    I was at the event and yes, it was a great night and there should be more like it. However, I do have a problem with something that you mentioned about Ahmed Al-Gharabally’s presentation. That it was promoting his business and the rest were non-profit.
    Most of the people there were designers or artists that make money out of their designs for individuals or companies. They too are promoting their talent or “business”.
    PechaKucha, as stated in their website http://www.pecha-kucha.org, specifically states that “PechaKucha Nights are informal and fun gatherings where creative people get together and share their ideas, works, thoughts, holiday snaps – just about anything really, in the PechaKucha 20×20 format.” A place where people to share ideas and network with each other.
    Everyone did a great job and I hope there are many more to come.

  3. swaleff May 10, 2010 at 12:19 am #

    Bumo
    Yes it was fun…. yeah you gotta watch them as soon as they upload them 😀

    Rashed

    Thanks for your opinion I appreciate it, and I know about the Pecha Kucha website and what it states (I was one of the organizers before)….but what I meant is how the rest of the presenters were similar and Ahmed was a little bit different… and what I mentioned is the person’s opinion (they were next to me)
    I hope that I clarified my point of view.

  4. Talal Obeid May 12, 2010 at 1:38 am #

    Thanks for the kind words, I really appreciate it.

    I just want to correct your quotation, it was called “Homage To Boobage” not ‘topage’ as you mentioned. It was not faded intentionally, I mentioned that it was a technical glitch that the PechaKuca organizers preferred that I don not fix.

  5. swaleff May 12, 2010 at 1:11 pm #

    Talal

    You are most welcome, I just said my opinion, and thanks for your correction, yet still I don’t understand what is the meaning…

    Also I just checked your interesting website, keep the good work 😀

  6. S.Q8 May 13, 2010 at 2:06 pm #

    There is nothing to say more than you all have mentioned . It was a great event it’s seams perfecte to me 😀 . But I wish they have prepared some water patteles to us , because I felt thirsty in the middle of the event :$ 😛

  7. swaleff May 15, 2010 at 10:47 am #

    S.Q8

    I am glad you had fun in the event, and thank god I brought with me my own drink, you are so right about the water issue 😀

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. 1 Year of Swaleff « swaleff.com - July 30, 2010

    […] Total Visitors:  37,657 Posts: 518 (11 Car CDs and 84 Movie Reviews) Comments: 272 Top visited post: Movie Review: Ninja Assassin (2009) 2,917 Top searched term: weeds 3,016 Top rated post: Review: Pecha Kucha Night Kuwait #5 […]

Leave a Reply

