Movie Review: The Imaginarium of Doctor Parnassus (2009)

23 Apr

In October I was excited about watching The Imaginarium of Doctor Parnassus , and I was expecting an amazing film that will keep me thinking about life and all that bulls***, I was annoyed that Cinemas in Kuwait didn’t approve it (because maybe the story revolve around a deal with the devil), at the end of the movie I didn’t regret any minute and entertained by great story with the perfect twist.

I don’t know if the sound of the film was not clear or the english accent that the actors use is difficult for me, during the whole movie and I was asking (what did he say?!!), anyways the movie start with Dr. Parnassus and his traveling theatre (it was a little bit boring at the beginning).

 Heath Ledger appearance changed the mood of the film, after being saved by the doctor’s cast, he started to be one of them (since he don’t remember his identity)

I like the symbolism in the movie (a delicious taste for conspiracy theory maniacs), the eye and the pyramid, and the gate for the other worlds with the checkered surface.

I loved the idea of using 4 actors for one character, Johnny Depp, Jude Law and Colin Farrell filled the missing parts perfectly, also the different worlds graphics were stunning, the imagination level rises into the maximum level there.

This might be the last movie for a great actor, but it seems that movies about devil’s deals not that popular, or it might be banned in cinemas (seriously it is just a movie!!).

As the movie reaches the end of the story and it gets much more interesting, I admire the acting of Tom Waits, specially in the dancing scene that might be one of my favorite, overall if you like movies that require a lot of imagination then you will enjoy it.

I would give it 8 out of 10
**********

One Response to “Movie Review: The Imaginarium of Doctor Parnassus (2009)”

  1. The Biz Daily April 23, 2010 at 7:48 pm #

    I haven’t seen this but will definitely check it out now!

    Check out my blog on everything about movies/tv and reviews:
    http://ericansoto.wordpress.com/

Leave a Reply

